





Thursday 16th December 2021

Vicky Ford MP Parliamentary Under Secretary of State Minister for Africa Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office fcdo.correspondence@fcdo.gov.uk

BY EMAIL

Dear Minister,

We write as the Chairs of the All-Party Parliamentary Groups on the Prevention of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity; on Eritrea; and the Parliamentary Human Rights Group (PHRG).

On Thursday 4 November we jointly hosted an event to mark the one-year anniversary of the outbreak of the conflict in Tigray, Ethiopia, as well as the publication the previous day of the Joint Investigation of the UN Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights and the Ethiopian Human Rights Commission. We heard from victims' groups, prominent policy experts, as well as the United Nations Special Adviser on the Prevention of Genocide, Alice Wairimu Nderitu.

Speakers agreed on the need to explore different diplomatic options to bring all sides to the negotiating table to agree a vision for Ethiopia's future; to ensure greater accountability for all those responsible for grave violations of international human rights and humanitarian law; to look critically at the destabilising impact of the conflict on the region, including in Eritrea and Sudan; and, to counter hate speech and the potential for ongoing cycles of violence. Speakers also repeated many of the recommendations made in a cross-party letter dated 13 September, coordinated by Sarah Champion MP and attached for ease of reference,

We hope that you could meet with us and our fellow APPG officers and members, alongside your colleagues in the Foreign Commonwealth and Development Office, at a mutually convenient date and time, to discuss these issues further.

We greatly look forward to hearing from you. Please contact the office of Fleur Anderson MP with your response and to coordinate, at fleur.anderson.mp@parliament.uk.

Yours sincerely,

Neur Anderson

Fleur Anderson MP (Chair, APPG on the Prevention of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity)

Rt Hon Dame Diana Johnson MP (Chair, All-Party Parliamentary Human Rights Group)

Fiona Bruce MP (Co-Chair, APPG on Eritrea)

Lord Alton of Liverpool (Co-Chair, APPG on Eritrea)